Steering Committee

The Steering Committee for Baltimore Dakota (Hau Kola) Learning Camps is comprised of a diverse group of individuals representing the various functions required to run this all volunteer organization. Committee membership is currently comprised of individuals who manage the business of Baltimore Dakota Learning Camps. The Committee includes a Chair, Vice Chair, Camp Representatives (two for each active camp location), Recording Secretary, Budget Analyst (a non-voting position), and a Member at Large.

The Steering Committee is responsible for:

  • Developing, refining and approving the Learning Camp curriculum;
  • Managing the organizational budget;
  • New camp identification, coordination and development;
  • Camp staff recruitment, interviewing and training;
  • Camp management; and
  • Coordinating with on-site camp staff regarding scheduling and facility use.

The Steering Committee meets a minimum of eight times per year with scheduled meetings occurring in September, October, November, January, February, March, April and May. Additional meetings are scheduled at the discretion of the Committee.

Steering Committee Members

Bob Steppling, Springfield

Past Chair
Chrystie Adams, Brown Memorial

Recording Secretary
Carolyn Nabet, Chestnut Grove

Ihanktonwan Camp
Aaron Hendrickson, First of Cumberland
Alison Peters, First of Cumberland

Pejuhutazizi Camp
Bob Steppling, Springfield

Porcupine Camp
Claudia Scarborough, Highland
Debra Glenn, Fallston

Sisseton Camp
Marla Holt, First and Franklin
Becca Hollaway, First and Franklin

Member at Large
Chrystie Adams, Brown Memorial

Budget Analyst
Doug Adams, Brown Memorial

Our Principles

View the principles by which the Baltimore Dakota Learning Camps Operates.